NYC-based four-piece Big Farm will release their self-titled debut album May 28th on New Amsterdam Records. “Something like a Blind Faith–style supergroup for new-music cognoscenti” (Time Out New York), Big Farm features four of today’s most revered and vital composer/performers: Grammy winner and Pulitzer Prize finalist vocalist-lyricist Rinde Eckert; in-demand electric bassist Mark Haanstra; Grammy winner and pioneering composer/guitarist Steven Mackey; and celebrated percussionist Jason Treuting (So Percussion). The band will premiere songs from their new album on March 20th at NYC’s Ecstatic Music Festival® in a collaborative set with JACK Quartet. The album will be available for purchase at the performance.

After years of various collaboration, admiration and respect for each other, the members of Big Farm finally banded together in 2009, answering a call to a place where the rules normative to the hard genres of music are set aside, making it possible for the group to express the eclecticism of its accomplished members.

The band explains: “Big Farm is a place where serious counterpoint can meet burlesque, earnestness meet abandon; a place where they can kick it or take it to tea, reflect, attack, mourn, dance, pray, or mock with ease or determination, joy or fervor, using any and all means necessary. This world is a big farm – lots of different crops, changing weather, livestock, and a duck pond for good measure.”

“Prog rock” may be the quickest way to describe Big Farm’s music, but truly the band’s sound is as varied as the music of its constituent members. Jumping effortlessly from raucous angular rock to a delicate accordion-filled ballad while touching on almost everything in between, the band covers a wide stylistic spectrum on their debut album. The virtuosity of each band member shines throughout; Eckert’s poetic (and often satirical) lyrics and dramatic delivery combine thrillingly with Mackey’s flawless guitar riffs, Haanstra’s superb bass, and Treuting’s agile percussion. The members’ esteemed careers as composers come into play as well, with every note and space expertly placed to create an album that is remarkably cohesive despite its disparate styles.

Listen to the album’s debut track, “Salad Days”, streaming now HERE

The album was recorded, produced and mixed by Lawson White and and Todd Whitelock at Avatar Studios and Good Child Music Studios in New York City. The album was mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk. Album guests include Alexandra Sopp (flute), Mary Jo Stilp (violin), Kiku Enomoto (violin), Christina Lberis (viola), and Rubin Kodheli (cello).